Reboot

I’m sure by now many of you have realized that I haven’t posted anything for 6 months (give or take) and that even the facebook and twitter pages have been rather silent. That’s because life has been happening and on the side I’ve been contemplating the actual purpose and direction of this blog. I’ve come to a conclusion, for the most part, and I hope that you’ll decide to stick with me. That being said, those of you who follow along for the good deals may be disappointed. While you may still hear of a good deal, a great sale, and couponing topics, that won’t be the main focus of this blog.

I’ve realized that there is soooo much more to living frugally and saving money than couponing, sales, and deals, and that my readers deserve the chance to know about those other option. I knew about these things prior to ever starting this blog but it wasn’t something I’d planned (for the most part) to put into cyberspace. However, I want this blog to show who I am, how we live, and what works for us. These things may or may not work for you and/or your family, but I hope that even if they don’t, they inspire you to find out what does work for you and how to put it into place.

I’m not saying I don’t shop sales anymore or use coupons but I’ve had a long heart to heart with myself that led to these changes. I was doing the many things I’ll be sharing with you in my own life all along, but like I said, I didn’t have much intention of sharing them with you. Not because I wanted to keep them a secret, they aren’t really secret anyway, but mostly because I wasn’t sure that’s what people wanted. However, my heart is changing. While we still buy plenty of processed food (I know… ) we really have slowly but surely started to eliminate it from our lives. Couponing and sales can coexist with healthy, whole food but not as readily as we’d all wish they did. That being said, I was saving money on whole foods while teaching my readers how to buy processed commercial food that is more or less poison because, again, I thought that was what most people wanted. Maybe that is what some of you are looking for. If that’s the choice you make for your family, I totally respect that and that information is out there for you. You may even find tidbits of it here still (I have a direction for the blog but it’s always going to be a work in progress). However, we’ll be getting back to basics, or at least taking baby steps towards basics. Blog posts will speak of home vegetable gardens, mistakes made and lessons learned in said vegetable gardens, sourcing local products, whole foods, organic living, canning and preserving, cooking from scratch, and who knows what else. Again, there will likely be some of the old, but there is going to be a lot of new.

I also felt type-casted in previous posts. A lot of that is my fault and was derive from my own thinking and beliefs.  But part of it was also because of other blogs I’ve read that put themselves into a box so I thought I had to do the same to be successful.

Frankly, I don’t like boxes or type casting and I like the freedom of being able to write about whatever I’d like. So for the last 6 months or so I’ve been thinking, praying, and reading. I’ve discovered blogs that are more like what I’d like to write- relaxed, with less rules, different expectations, and freedom to write about more than how to save money one particular way. These women have opinions and they aren’t afraid to share them. In fact, their opinions, though often strong, are typically well received and praised. However, they’re said humbly and with grace towards others who may not have the same opinion. I like that- grace… I’ll tell you how I think and feel but know that I realize that you, my dear readers, live completely different lives than I do and so if we disagree that’s totally fine with me.

Anyway, I hope you like the changes you see! Some will be gradual and others more noticeable. If there is something you’d like to know about or even share with us, please do. You can always contact me or just simply leave a comment on the blog, the facebook, and possibly even the twitter page. (The fate of the twitter page remains in question. Honestly, for whatever reason, it gets a lot of exposure but I just can’t get excited about twitter so it may or may not survive.)

See you soon!

Megan

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Megan Grant said,

    Yay! This makes me so happy! We also are dedicated to eating non-processed, whole foods and it is sooo hard to find advice and tips on how to do that frugally. So thanks for shifting your direction, it definitely works for me! I look forward to your future posts!

    • 2

      Thanks Megan! I’m so happy to hear this is what people want! I just always felt so guilty writing about saving money the conventional way knowing that the processed and refined food most people buy with coupons is so horrible for their health. I also know that even though some people think the food is cheaper in the short run I believe the cost of buying whole, organic food saves you money in the long run when you combine the savings on health and dental care costs.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

