Canning Peaches… It’s Easier than You Think

I recently had the canning experience of my life. By the end of two bushels of peaches I wanted to chop off my feet, have an epidural for my back pain and was slightly repulsed by peaches. However, it was all worth it! My husband and I love peaches but while he’s perfectly fine with store-bought… I’m not. I have several reasons for this, taste mostly, but also the type of sugar (GM) used, possible BPA in the lining of the can, where did the peaches come from, and the thought of TONS of pesticides being sprayed on the peaches and then us consuming them which couldn’t be less appealing. So taking all these things into consideration I decided to give home canning a try last year and fell absolutely head-over-heels in love. I didn’t make a ton because I don’t like canned peaches and I thought Chris would be in Korea for part of the year. Fortunately, Chris didn’t end up going to Korea and I realized that store-bought canned peaches bare nothing in resemblance to home canned peaches… THEY ARE AMAZING! However, since I only did two small batches of peaches last year we found ourselves painfully rationing the peaches. So this year I may have gone a little peach crazy to ensure such a thing never happens EVER again.

I bought two bushels of peaches and processed them all by myself in two days. I thought it might kill me and for half a second, when all was said and done, peaches- the site of, the smell of, the ANYTHING of peaches was repulsive. I had spent so much time with peaches that I didn’t want anything to do with them. However, my husband said they’re amazing and has already consumed three jars of them so I suppose it was all worth it. It’s also nice to know that not only will we have a supply that lasts at least until next summer but that also I can have peach cobbler any time of year I want it. In case you’re wondering, I froze peaches for cobbler, I didn’t can them. For one, I was running out of jars. Secondly, I wasn’t about to run another batch or two through my boiling water canner. And last but certainly not least, peaches get too soft IMHO if you use canned once they’ve been cooked. So into the freezer went 4 VERY full bags of peeled and chopped peaches. For those of you who can keep up with that many peaches (perhaps you have help) you can even save the peels and pits to make jelly. You’ll have to search the internet for that recipe but today I’m including the recipes for canning and freezing peaches. The following links are the processes I use for canning peaches. I find these processes infallible and extremely simple and perfectly detailed. If I could give you one word of advice it would be to make sure you’re peaches are ripe. If you pick them, pick carefully. If you buy them refuse to take anything less than perfect. A bunch of green peaches could very well be the death of you and they won’t produce the best product- you might as well buy store-bought. But besides lack of flavor and less than desirable texture, peeling them will be your worst nightmare.

Below are the links for canning and freezing. I want to give a big thanks to Blake at www.pickyourown.org for allowing me to share his amazing resources with you. He also told me that he has a TON of great things planned for the website and I can’t wait to see them so be sure to check back every once in a while to see what’s new!

Canning

Freezing



3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Yes, yes, yes. Before we started canning we had been buying “premium” peaches in glass jars. It wasn’t very cost effective, but we couldn’t stand the cheaper ones in the metal cans for many of the reasons you list. Then one day we saw a new message on the glass jar labels. “Packed in China.”

    Seriously?

    How in the world can peaches be grown in China, processed and canned and shipped to me half way around the world and then brought all the way to my grocery store and still only cost $2.50? Something was fishy there. We decided to can our own as well and haven’t looked back!

    • 2

      Jimmy I totally agree with you, it’s so sad that not only does most of the ‘stuff’ American’s buy come from China or another country near/like it but that sooo much of our food does as well. I feel the same way when i look at the juice aisle at the store, particularly apple juice. So we either don’t buy it at all or we get it from a local source. It’s horrible to think of all the impact that buying food from across the globe has whether is lost jobs here or the amount of oil used to ship it, etc. I don’t get why anyone would do that if they could just drive a couple miles to a local farm or farmer’s market and buy it from someone who lives right in their own community.

      I also wanted to say I checked out your blog and it’s wonderful! I can’t wait to read more of it!

      • 3

        Thanks for stopping by! I’m adding you to my Google Reader. The best part about canning local peaches is that, for me, they end up cheaper. I can get Missouri Calhoun County peaches for $40 a bushel. I end up paying less per ounce (not counting an entire evening of 3 people laboring) with my home canned product. I wouldn’t care if it was twice as much, I would still do it on principle and for my health.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

