My Late Night Savings Adventure to Albertson’s

So maybe the commercials for Albertson’s do lie… but if you mix their half-truths with my coupon genius it makes for a very good night.

What I bought and how I saved:

(*For those of you reading in the local Mountain Home area, aka- Slitmywristsville, you can’t typically get double or triple coupons in the local Albertson’s ad, but you can get them in the Boise ad, which I happen to get from my Mom.)

What I bought and the original price:

6 Bottles of Pop (Don’t judge, they last forever)- $1.99 each
Palmolive Clear Dish Soap- I believe it was $3.79
Crest Pro Health Toothpaste 6 oz- $3.99
Crest Baking Soda and Peroxide Whitening Toothpaste 6.4 oz- $2.79
Pantene Pro-V Volumizing Mousse- $4.29
Large Golden Delicious Apples- $1.10
Vine Ripe Tomatoes- $3.08
Yellow Onion- $0.35
Snow Peas- $2.49
Green Bell Pepper- $0.69

Total Value with Tax: $36.58

What I Saved and How I did it:

(*PC= Preferred Card )

Each bottle of pop was $0.79 off with PC. There is also a Bonus Buy sale for an extra $1 off for every 3 you buy. $6.74 Saved*, total cost was $0.87 each.

When I went to the store I planned to get Dawn since it was on sale. It was $2.29 and I had a $0.25 coupon and a double which would have made it $1.79. However, when I got there I noticed a slightly smaller bottle of Palmolive Clear on sale for $1.99 with PC and that had a $0.55 coupon that you could use right then (it even said so.) I had the double coupon I was going to use with the Dawn and used it for that instead. That made it $0.99 and I got a more human-friendly product.

I had to use this coupon on a premium type of Crest. They had a few boxes of the old design (on the box) of Pro Health on clearance for $1.99. The coupon was for $1.00 off and I had a double- that means I made a penny on that purchase alone.

My PC brought the Crest Baking Soda and Peroxide Whitening to $1.89. I had a $0.50 off plus a double making it $0.89.

I don’t normally use mousse but my hair is getting longer which makes me lose volume on the top and this sale made trying this product feasible. If I don’t like it, or it’s not what I need, I haven’t spent a lot of money on something I won’t continue to use. The Pantene Pro-V Volumizing Mousse was $3.33 with my PC. I then had a $1.00/1 coupon with a double which made the final product $1.33.

The snow peas weren’t on sale but I am having some friends over for dinner Wednesday and we’re having teriyaki steak and I am making stir-fry veggies with it. We had to return a storage container we bought to Wal-Mart. (It was broken. Surprise!) While we were there I ran to the produce section and checked the price of snow peas. They were about $2.60. I checked them at Albertson’s and they were $2.49 so I grabbed them there for the cheaper price.

Green Bell Peppers were on sale for $0.50 each so I saved $0.19 with my PC.

(*)Notes:

I know, I know, I know… no one in their right mind ever spends $1.99 on a 2 liter bottle of pop. However, at $0.87 each that’s within the five-star price range for a 2 liter.

They only let me use three of the four double coupons that I had because that’s how many each ad got. She gave me $1.00 off for each of them (the max. value). I could have had her take one item off and returned tomorrow to use it on a second transaction or I could have had Chris go through with the coupon, the double, and the product for a second transaction but it was late, I was tired, and I have way too much to do tomorrow for an extra $0.50.

What’s all this mean? It means tonight, between the PC savings, store coupons, doubles, and manufacturer’s coupons, I saved $19.04.

My total after savings: $17.54

Yes, folks, that does mean I saved more tonight than I spent!

Total saved: 52%

Other:

I received a Catalina Coupon for $1.50 off a Digiorno 200 Calorie Portion (A Catalina Coupon is the coupon that prints out of the second printer at the register.)

I also got a survey attached to my receipt. If I do it within seven days I’ll get $2.00 off my next purchase.

And last, but definitely not least, we spent almost $20.00 and that will go towards gas rewards. Besides the discounts you get with your PC you also get a running tab. For every $50.00 you spend you get five cents off per gallon of gas at an Albertson’s gas station and you can earn up to $1.50 off total. You get to use this reward when you want by swiping your PC when you fill up and you can use it on up to 20 gallons of gas. Yes, that does mean you can save up to $30 on a tank of gas.

So, my frugal readers, take my wonderful experience and put it to use. Spend five minutes matching ads to coupons and you can save up to, and maybe even more than, 50% off on your grocery costs. I have more great tips coming soon and I’m working on an all-encompassing Coupon Tutorial.

One last note- this sale is only good through tomorrow (Tues.  1/5/10) so hurry if you’re planning on grabbing any of these great deals!

Happy Savings!

Leave a Reply

